Filecoin Green Introduction

Hey everyone, my name is Marc Johnson and I’m an Environmental Solutions Architect at Protocol Labs, working specifically on Filecoin Green.

Filecoin Green is an initiative to (1) make Filecoin verifiably sustainable, but also (2) to build the world’s best tools to measure and reduce environmental impacts. The Filecoin network recently celebrated its second anniversary, and in that time it has grown to approximately 18.8 EiB of storage capacity, spread across +4,000 Storage Providers around the world.

Storage Providers (SPs) are one of the most critical stakeholders in the Filecoin network. These individuals are responsible for ensuring that the system remains efficient by providing storage to clients, but they also improve and test the protocol as well as buy and sell tokens.

To achieve our objectives, Filecoin Green works closely with Storage Providers (SPs) to decarbonize their operations. Through this work we’ve come to realize that SPs need access to capital to assist in their energy efficiency and decarbonization efforts, and SPs already demonstrating a high degree of environmental sustainability require additional capital to secure FIL collateral and expand their operations.

We believe that a loan vehicle may be the appropriate funding mechanism for these operational upgrades, as SPs predictable revenue streams and our Energy Use Audit process provide useful metrics and evaluators for this type of financial structure.

With that in mind, and drawing inspiration from ‘The Case for Clean Money’, we have been working on a proposal for a loan mechanism that SPs may access to secure funds for their energy, hardware, and FIL collateral capital expenditures.

With this proposed loan mechanism, capital will be used to achieve the objectives of decarbonizing and maximizing the efficiency of the Filecoin network. Through these efforts, we’ll help create a more sustainable, stable, and self-sufficient system.