Centrifuge's deeply thoughtful approach to Token Design and Integration

I am very new to the blockchain and cryptocurrency world and still trying to understand how even leading projects like Bitcoin and Ethereum operate in this new era of digital finance and open source , decentralised protocols.

I began to take interest in 2017, coinciding with the boom in ICOs and the abundance of new projects promising to ‘moon’ and provide lucrative returns to investors that if anything like me had little idea about the real world value of these projects. What I didn’t realise at the time is how important the token can be, not only as an instrument for investors hoping it will increase in value, but if it was needed for the project to work in the first place and if and how it was was aligned to its broader goals and functionality.

Some things I think about now is if a token is even necessary for every blockchain project; does it make sense in the application, is it useful in the architecture, is it likely to be utility or security, can be it a vehicle for governance, and is it consistent with the vision, aims, function and strategy of the project etc.

I discovered that Centrifuge, unlike many other projects, decided to build without releasing a token, at least not in the conventional way. At first, this approach seemed to me strange and counterintuitive. Upon reading the rational for this decision covered in the literature online, I can not only understand but appreciate the Centrifuge’s Team decision not to issue a token. On my understanding, the decision not to included:

• it can add undesirable complexity unless the product fundamentally requires it: A token brings with it an array of issues, including design, issuance and distribution schedules, usage fees, reward frameworks, governance implications etc.